Detroit 60 Series Firing Order and Valve Adjustment

The Detroit 60 Series is a family of inline-six diesel engines that were produced by Detroit Diesel from 1987 to 2011. The engines are known for their electronic control, fuel efficiency, performance, and reliability. The engines were available in three displacements: 11.1 L, 12.7 L, and 14.0 L. The firing order and valve adjustment procedures are the same for all three engine sizes.

Firing Order

The firing order of the Detroit 60 Series engines is 1-5-3-6-2-4. This means that the first cylinder to fire is cylinder 1, followed by cylinder 5, then cylinder 3, and so on. The firing order is determined by the camshaft design and the crankshaft rotation. The firing order is important for the engine balance, smooth operation, and power output.

The cylinders are numbered from the front to the rear of the engine, with the odd-numbered cylinders on the right side and the even-numbered cylinders on the left side. The cylinders are also labeled with letters A through F on the valve cover. The following table shows the cylinder numbering and labeling scheme.


Cylinder Number Cylinder Label
1 A
2 B
3 C
4 D
5 E
6 F

To identify the firing order, you can use the following mnemonic: After Eating, Call For Backup Driver.

Valve Adjustment

The valve adjustment of the Detroit 60 Series engines is done by using a feeler gauge and a wrench. The valves are adjusted by loosening or tightening the locknut on the rocker arm. The valves are adjusted in pairs, with one intake valve and one exhaust valve per cylinder. The valve lash, or the clearance between the valve stem and the rocker arm, should be within the specified range for optimal engine performance and durability.

The valve adjustment should be done when the engine is cold, or at least 6 hours after the engine has been shut down. The valve adjustment should be done in the same sequence as the firing order, starting with cylinder 1. The following table shows the valve adjustment sequence and the valve lash specifications.


Cylinder Number Cylinder Label Intake Valve Exhaust Valve
1 A 0.008 in 0.020 in
5 E 0.008 in 0.020 in
3 C 0.008 in 0.020 in
6 F 0.008 in 0.020 in
2 B 0.008 in 0.020 in
4 D 0.008 in 0.020 in

To adjust the valves, you need to rotate the engine until the piston of the cylinder you are working on is at the top dead center (TDC) of the compression stroke. You can use a barring tool to manually turn the engine by the flywheel. You can also use a timing pin to locate the TDC position of cylinder 1. The timing pin is located on the front cover of the engine, near the crankshaft pulley. You can insert the pin into the hole when the engine is at TDC of cylinder 1.

To adjust the intake valve, you need to insert the feeler gauge between the valve stem and the rocker arm. You need to loosen the locknut and turn the adjusting screw until you feel a slight drag on the feeler gauge. You need to tighten the locknut while holding the adjusting screw in place. You need to recheck the valve lash and repeat the process until it is within the specification.

To adjust the exhaust valve, you need to follow the same steps as the intake valve, but using a different feeler gauge and a different valve lash specification.

You need to adjust the valves of all six cylinders in the same manner, following the firing order sequence. You need to rotate the engine by one full revolution for each cylinder. You need to make sure that the valves are properly adjusted and that the locknuts are securely tightened.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *